St. Mark’s Church at Ninebanks overlooks the scenic West Allen and is closely linked to the rise and fall of lead mining in the 18th and 19th centuries. After the decline of lead mining, many of the miners left to find work in Australia, New Zealand and the United States. Nowadays when their descendants visit they discover a place that has changed little over the years.
For hikers on the Isaac’s Tea Trail walk, named after the tea seller and philanthropist from Ninebanks Isaac Holden, St. Mark’s is of special interest. Isaac was baptised here in 1805 and in later life he gave a hearse for the community. The Hearse House for Holden’s hearse is still standing on the roadside nearby.
The churchyard has a memorial dedicated by Parkin Lee, the Squire of Ninebanks to his parents, before he returned to Australia in 1854. He lost rather than made his fortune on the gold fields. A marble gravestone also commemorates the self styled poet of the dale, Robert Dodd, who fought in the American Civil War. The churchyard is a haven for wild life.
Hover your cursor over the symbol see the facility name or view the key to facility symbols.